Year of Beer Paintings – Day 162

Today’s beer is from England.  The one and only Newcastle Brown Ale by Tadcaster Brewery.  Imported in this 18.6 fl oz bottle.  This classic import beer is one that many people turn to for good beer.  I would say it is crafted for sure, one of those European (that’s right, Americans think England is Europe) beers that Americans buy because it is more expensive than the regular domestics, and has more flavor as well.  To me, this beer tastes like English beer, a little weak, a little too dark, a little funky, and a little too sweet.

I almost painted it in Hawaii, but ran out of panels.  I included it in my original beer paintings series called 99 Bottles of Beer on the Wall, and it sold before I had a chance to display it, so I know people out there love this beer!  It has this flavor of, well, skunk, because of the clear glass allowing light contamination.  Then roasted grains, and a bit of alcohol.  Other than that I taste some kind of English hop variety, but only a faint hint.  One of my goals is to represent beers from around the world in this series, and although this particular Newcastle is from Tadcaster, the label still shows the iconic Newcastle Bridge over the Tyne River.  So I put it in front of the Tyne just to show its history.  I am sure 25 years ago this was a major score of a good beer!

Cheers to Newcastle!  The one and only!  One of the good beers that I first tasted that started me on my way to loving craft beer!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of New Castle Brown Ale Year of Beer Paintings

Year of Beer 06.11. Newcastle Brown Ale by Tadcaster Brewery . Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a comment