Ship Creek

I made it home from my property in McCarthy, which is located in the heart of the Wrangell St. Elias National Park, I unfortunately was not able to hang my tree house as I had hoped.  It was a bummer.  I am currently trying to decide whether I should continue with the tree house idea or simply leave the grounded structure as a bicycle/tool shed.  I am looking forward to returning to the park in a few weeks, and will hopefully be able to conclude the tree house saga.  I was painting today along Ship Creek looking at this old building.  It reminded me of Duke Russell’s painting I saw at Snow City Cafe about five years ago and felt that it was an interesting dichotomy between nature and architecture.  I was also hoping to see some fishermen hauling in some salmon, but alas they were getting skunked. 

anchorage ship creek powerhouse painting

Leave a Reply

