Year of Beer Paintings – Day 11

In honor of day two of AK Beer Week, today’s Year of Beer painting is of Morning Wood IPA from Kassik’s Brewery in Nikiski, Alaska.  The beer is shown in front of a huge pile of firewood and a wood-stove to get you warmed up in the morning.

The first time I ever set foot in the Kassik’s Brew Stop was the year it opened.  I was lost in Kenai, Alaska trying to meet up with friends to go dip-netting for the first time.  I drove my old truck all the way to Kenai, found the brewery, went in, and called my friends, who told me they were waiting for me at the Kenai River Brewing Company, about 20 miles away.  I was tapped out of cash (surprise, surprise, driving a full size truck around on an artist’s budget) and couldn’t buy any beer.  I was extra tortured because I received several free tasters and the beer was sooo good.  When I finally did meet my friends I could only tell them how good this brewery was!  I was almost skunked (dipnet fishing is harder than it looks), and then I drove all the way home with no beer and only one salmon, which I could have bought for less than the cost of the trip at the grocery store!  Cheers to Kassik’s and great Alaska beer!

The original painting sold. You can purchase a limited-edition print at my Etsy Shop.

Year of Beer 01.11, Morning Wood IPA from Kassik's Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8"x10".

Year of Beer 01.11, Morning Wood IPA from Kassik’s Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

