Year of Beer Paintings – Day 19

Today’s Year of Beer painting is Spaten Optimator, chillin’ in the streets of Deutschland.  On my first trip to Germany I went to Münich (München) with only weeks until my 21st birthday.  I was enjoying drinking legally overseas, my first introduction to bars and a pub crawl.  I pretty much only drank dunkles (dark) bier because I thought helles (light) or pils was boring.  On my second trip my wife and I went to a small town in the middle of Germany to visit her family in a town called Seesen.  I couldn’t find any good beer because I was shopping at the local grocery market, but then we discovered the drink (getränke) shops.  The drink shops in Germany stock beers that are really popular across the country, or available within about 100 kilometers of the store.  All the empty bottles are returned to the brewery for refilling.  Germany has an extensive brewing history, but unlike the U.S., most beer there is crafted in Reinheitsgebot tradition, so it’s almost impossible to find hop-forward ale there, however you will find a perfect pils after perfect pils.

Ein Prosit!  Ich Liebe Bier!

The original painting sold. You can purchase a limited-edition print at my Etsy Shop.

Year of Beer 01.19, Spaten Optimator from Germany. Oil on panel, 8"x10".

Year of Beer 01.19, Spaten Optimator from Germany. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a comment