Year of Beer Paintings – Day 48

Today’s Year of Beer painting is Redhook ESB (Extra Special Bitter).  To me this English-style beer seems more malt forward than the name suggests.  I picked this beer because is has been a beer staple in my family since I started drinking.  My older brother brought it to my attention when he became a small investor during Redhook’s first public stock offering.  Redhook was founded in 1981, so it’s only one year younger than me.  When they started making ESB in 1987, my family had just moved to Alaska from Spokane, Washington.  When I think Redhook, I think Seattle, Washington, because this beer originates from Woodinville, WA.  When I think Seattle, I think Seahawks, especially this year!  Who was the strongest player in the NFL this year?  It was the beer drinker in the crowd getting rowdy!  The roar of the 12th man!  The Seahawks felt that spirited energy all the way from Alaska as they dominated the Superbowl this year!  Alaska is not guaranteed to be on Seattle sports side of the game, but it seemed that the majority of people who didn’t have ties to Colorado seemed to favor the Seahawks, and the screaming must have transferred back through the TVs because it was a domination this year!

Drink craft beer while watching football!  Support the little guy!  Get beer from the growler fillin’ station down the street and keep it green, aggressive sports sea green!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy Shop.

Year of Beer 02.17. Redhook ESB. Oil on panel, 8"x10".

Year of Beer 02.17. Redhook ESB. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

