Year of Beer Paintings – Day 57

Today’s Year of Beer painting is of Kilt Lifter by The Pike Brewing Company in Seattle, Washington.  One thing is for sure, this Scotch style Ruby ale is malty!  Scotch style brews are in a class of their own, competing with historical counterparts directly from Scotland.  If you have not sampled any Scotch style beers, and you like a less hop forward brew, this is one not to be missed.  Especially if you are tired of all your IPA drinking friends catching a nice little buzz from consuming only one beer.  With an O.G. of 1.065 this 6.5% alc. by volume beer has enough kick for you to keep up with those hop headed party animals, but lacks the bitter flower craze that keeps you from joining them.  I also like that Pike Brewing puts the ingredient list on the beer label, so I can tell that the beer is Reinheitsgebot.

Scotch style ale has always had a special place in my heart as it was one of my favorite styles when I first started drinking and developing my palette, and hadn’t developed a taste for IPA yet.  Of course, I would order a Scotch brew when I didn’t know what to order… it had my name in it!  I normally will drink a solid IPA these days, but there is something to be said for the malt body of Scotch Ale.

To malt forward beer, a brew we can drink in the rain that won’t make us sneeze!

The original painting sold. You can purchase a limited-edition print, or order a custom beer painting at my Etsy Shop.

Year of Beer 02.26. Kilt Lifter by The Pike Brewing Company. Oil on panel, 8"x10".

Year of Beer 02.26. Kilt Lifter by The Pike Brewing Company. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

