Year of Beer Paintings – Day 99!

Aloha!  Today is day 99 of my Year of Beer Paintings project!  Wow!  Every day from now on I will be setting a new record for the largest beer painting series of mine!  My last series had 99 beer paintings (99 Bottles of Beer on the Wall in 2011).  They were totally different, but every beer painting series is.

A year ago I was right here in Hawaii!  I was sad because I had to return to Alaska and I had heard that it was snowing in Anchorage.  Well, now I am back for three whole weeks and the fun has just begun!  Today’s daily beer painting is of Mama’s Little Yella Pils from Oskar Blues Brewery in Colorado!  I have really started to like this brewery, so as a litmus test I tried the Pilsner in a can.  Nothing wrong here, just a highly drinkable yellow pilsner in the Czech style, although it tastes like a craft American pils to me.  I believe there is American malt in this one.  Using my “beer force” I sensed Noble hops, tasted like Saaz to me.

So I was looking into the backstory on the name.  I think Oskar Blues is referring to Valium, which is a little yellow pill.  It must be an analogy to the beer being yellow and also relaxing to drink.  My mom usually sips on instant coffee, never beer, which just doesn’t have the same effect.  Maybe I will buy her a sixer and see how long it sits in the fridge (at least I will have something tasty to drink when I stop by to visit).

Here’s to beer!  Oskar Blues, I honor you by making Mama’s Little Yella Pils the 99th beer in my series!  I wish I had another right now here in Hawaii!  Cheers!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy Shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Mama's Little Yella Pils by Oskar Blues Brewery in Colorado Year of Beer Paintings

Year of Beer 04.09. Mama’s Little Yella Pils by Oskar Blues Brewery. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

 

Leave a Reply

