Year of Beer Paintings – Day 130

The daily beer painting is of China Poot Porter from Homer Brewing Company.  I remember the first time I sampled this particular brew at Humpy’s Great Alaskan Alehouse here in Anchorage, Alaska.  I ordered a Black Butte Porter and Maria, my wife, wanted to order something from Alaska so she ordered a China Poot from Homer (you cannot do this anymore as Homer Brewing is keeping all its beer local to Homer).  So Maria grabbed my beer first and the bartender says, “Oops, I switched your beers,” but not until I had tasted her beer.  It was like liquid chocolate – so full of flavor!  I was overwhelmed with dark beer goodness!  Then I tasted my rightly ordered beer, my favorite at the time.  Well, let me say that 200 miles away versus 3,000 makes a difference, among other things.  So, I drove to Homer and bought a keg of porter to have for a Halloween party, which was a righteous success because I had the freshest, best porter in Alaska for that moment.

Okay, so China Poot is a mountain that one can see from Homer across Kachemak Bay, and if you live in Homer, you may be surprised that I chose to paint the Salty Dawg Saloon instead of the peak.  But, everyone knows that the Salty Dawg is a great place for a beer before, or after, hitting Kachemak Bay – one of the easiest ports to access in Southcentral Alaska.  You will find the atmosphere of the old dark lighthouse to be as Alaskan as it gets.  Sign a dollar bill and put it on the wall, because this place is fun!

One more thing: Homer Brewing reuses SoBe bottles to bottle its beer and sells the bottles at various places for consumption on location only.  I have been advocating for the more ecological method of refilling bottles instead of making new ones for a decade now, and hope more breweries take a lesson from Homer Brewing, as this is the best way to save money and our environment!

To Homer Brewing, the most local, “greenest”, coastal Alaska brewery!  Way to be Homer Brewing Co!

The original painting sold.  You can purchase a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of China Poot Porter from Homer Brewing Co Year of Beer Paintings

Year of Beer 05.10. China Poot Porter by Homer Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

