Year of Beer Paintings – Day 135

The daily beer painting is of 120 Minute IPA by Dogfish Head Craft Brewery.  At 18% alcohol by volume, I do not think this can be considered an IPA.  It tasted like an American style barleywine!  The brewery says it is pushing the boundaries of what beer should be.  I think they hit the mark on his one – it is decidedly pushing the envelope for booziness.  Oh, did I mention the one I drank was bottled in February 2009?  I tasted the age and the malt, but the hops had long since changed into fruity esters.  It reminded me of drinking world-class barleywine, one aged in whiskey or cognac barrels, even though this IPA never touched oak.  Thanks Rich, for mailing me such a unique and tasty brew!  I will do my best to send something back that will be very good.  I think you might win on this one though (not that it’s a contest, Alaska can’t compete with the Philly beer scene).

Dogfish Head, what lovely beer you produce!  Keep it up, and some to Alaska!

P. S. The hourglass pictured behind the beer in this painting is the prop from the Wizard of Oz, because after drinking this beer you might be thinking, “This ain’t Kansas anymore, Toto!”

The original painting sold. You can purchase a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer painting of 120 minute ipa by dogfish head brewery year of beer paintings

Year of Beer 05.15. 120 Minute IPA by Dogfish Head Craft Brewery. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

2 thoughts on “Year of Beer Paintings – Day 135

  1. Pingback: Year of Beer Paintings – Day 207 | Real Art Is Better!

  2. Pingback: Year of Beer Paintings in Review | Real Art Is Better!

Leave a Reply

