Year of Beer Paintings – Day 140

The daily beer painting is of Estate Homegrown Ale from 2012 by Sierra Nevada Brewing Company. I came across this particular bottle when my wife (and Business Manager) won it as a raffle prize at our local Great Northern Brewers Club meeting. I didn’t realize that it was already two years old until I opened it, while I was painting it, and noticed rust inside the cap, which had been preserved with a wax seal. Nonetheless, this bottle had righteous, thick foam, like a thick orange cheese. I still had remnants of foam on my last sip! The first sip had notes of butterscotch and caramel, and I thought that this beer had been aged too long, but as I let it sit and sipped it over a two-hour period, the taste improved, and the hop flavor exploded in my mouth with each sip.

This beer is brewed from ingredients grown at the Sierra Nevada Estate Farm, right there at the brewery in Chico, California. One hundred percent organic, the only other brewery I know that is growing its own organic ingredients is Rogue for its Farm Series.

Sierra Nevada, your brewery may be large, but it is not boring! I am always impressed by the way you use your imperial forces for good, not evil! Cheers! Keep up the hard work!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Estate Homegrown Ale by Sierra Nevada Brewing Co Year of Beer Paintings

Year of Beer 05.20. Estate Homegrown Ale by Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

 

Leave a Reply

