Year of Beer Paintings – Day 152

The daily beer painting is of Atwater Brewery’s Decadent Dark Chocolate Ale.  I love dark beer with chocolate flavor.  Yep, hand it over!  Atwater Brewery is from Detroit, Michigan.  Patrick Johnson from Bath, Michigan sent me this beer, which was bottled in January 2014.  Patrick and I “met” on reddit.com, and I rely on people sending me beer that I can’t buy in Alaska to make the Year of Beer Paintings a well-rounded series.  I knew that Michigan had some great beer, but Patrick’s beer mail contained bottles of some of the best beers I have ever had.  I have been on a bit of a Michigan kick for beer anyway. This beer is wickedly good, tastes like a chocolate truffle, has rich foam and smells like a chocolate factory.  After taking my first sip, I started looking around for the Oompa Loompas. Detroit – Rock City!  Must be a hell of a town!  I am hoping that the financial crisis is over and the city gets back on its feet.  If this beer is an example of where Detroit is going, then I am sure the city is about to experience a renaissance.  I look forward to visiting, touring breweries and catching a Tigers game some day. Cheers to another brewery that I may not have discovered had I not started this project! Cheers to another great beer I never tasted before!  And cheers to Decadent Dark Chocolate Ale!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Decadent Dark Chocolate Ale by Atwater Brewery Year of Beer Paintings

Year of Beer 06.01. Decadent Dark Chocolate Ale by Atwater Brewery. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

One thought on “Year of Beer Paintings – Day 152

Leave a Reply

