Year of Beer Paintings – Day 164

Today’s beer painting is of Reissdorf Kölsch from the Privat Brauerie Heinrich Reissdorf. Amazing beer!  I am sitting in my outdoor studio in McCarthy, sipping on this beer with two good friends and all of us are amazed at this delicious crisp German Kölsch.  “What a good beer!” one of them said as he swilled it down.  “Good beer!” said the other.  I was really thirsty this late afternoon as we had just hauled 20 five-gallon jugs of water all the way from the spring to my lot.  I think the hot weather (probably 80 degrees F in Alaska), and the cold beer after manual labor made this a very, very enjoyable beer.

I love the German pilsner, but a Kölsch has even more breadiness.  The yeast flavor is a bit different, more chunky.  Many German beers are very similar with vary subtle differences.  I love German beer from my last bicycle trip in 2011.  I rode across the country of Germany as part of it and tasted many amazing beers.  I wish I had gone to Köln!  I was getting annoyed at big cities and decided to skip it.  Next time I go, I will totally bring a folding bike and hop trains and stay in cities!  And I will go to Köln and drink the Reissdorf Kölsch!

Prost zum gut Bier!  Reissdorf Kölsch!  Hanging with the best beers out there!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings series.

Beer Painting of Reissdorf Kölsch by Privat-Brauerei Heinrich Reissdorf

Year of Beer 06.13. Reissdorf Kölsch by Privat-Brauerei Heinrich Reissdorf. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

