Year of Beer Paintings – Day 181

Today’s beer painting is of Perpetual Imperial Pale Ale from the Tröegs Brewing Company in Hershey, Pennsylvania.  I have to admit I was a little skeptical of this Imperial IPA, because most breweries put a single IPA in a can.  Although there is no light contamination, and the breweries can just about eliminate any oxygen from the can, whenever I see a 7.5% IPA in a can, I worry about heat contamination.  The aluminum, although not a very good heat sink, transfers more heat than a glass bottle.  The good news is that this can was very fresh, and not to my real surprise, the beer was phenomenal!  I have been really happy with every product I have tasted from Tröegs!  Thanks, Rich, for taking the time to mail another batch of PA brews!

For only 85 IBUs there were a lot of floral hops in this one, and when I look at the hop bill I can see why.  It’s a very diverse group: Bravo, Chinook and Mt. Hood in the boil, and Mt. Hood and Nugget in the HopBack machine, then dry hopped with Citra and Cascade!  A process that obviously shows that these guys love beer!  You can make a beer with hop extract and skip almost all these steps, but your beer will be yellow and boring without any amazing hop character.  With this three-step hopping procedure you get Perpetual IPA!  A fine example of a fresh hop grenade!

Let the machine keep turning its gears!  I want this beer perpetually in my beer fridge, but sadly I only got one!  I should be happy I even go to try this incredibly fresh Hop Bomb of an IPA!  Cheers!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Perpetual IPA by Tröegs brewing year of beer clendaniel

Year of Beer 06.30. Perpetual IPA by Tröegs Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

