Year of Beer Paintings – Day 198

The featured beer painting of the day is of Arctic Saison by Grassroots Brewing Co.  This is batch number two, and is a collaboration between Hill Farmstead Brewery and Anchorage Brewing Co.  It was brewed here in Anchorage in the copper kettles of the Sleeping Lady Brewing Company, then pumped downstairs for fermenting in Anchorage Brewing’s giant oak fermenters.  I don’t know what Hill Farmstead has for fermenters, but from the photos I have seen it looks like the brewery uses steel and then ages in oaken casks.  So, batch number one, which was made at Hill Farmstead in Vermont has a different flavor.  Batch number two decidedly has Anchorage Brewing’s yeast profile, full of Brett, and is delicious I might add!

Tart and bready with a Brettanomyces character, this beer was like sipping lemonade on a horse.  I could see how some may not find it utterly delicious, but to me it was superb.  If you are not into sour beer, maybe you should save your money.  Although, chances are that you have a different beer in front of you anyway, because I don’t think there are that many bottles of batch number two available.

I volunteered at the Culmination Beer Festival, here in Anchorage, Alaska this year.  Although I was pouring for Jolly Pumpkin, I was also asked to pour the Arctic Saison off and on due to other volunteers needing breaks.  I also got a chance to taste Saison number one at the event, and I thought it was great, and a bit different on the yeast.  Don’t underestimate the affect yeast will have on a beer recipe.

Cheers to collaborative beer!  Now I get a chance to see the reaction of two beer communities to this particular painting, I hope you like the painting as much as l like drinking this beer!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings series.

Beer Painting of Arctic Saison by Grassroots Brewing Year of Beer Paintings

Year of Beer 07.17. Arctic Saison by Grassroots Brewing. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

 

Leave a Reply

