Year of Beer Paintings – Day 217

The featured beer of the day is of Double Trouble Imperial IPA from Founders Brewing Company.  When I started the Year of Beer Paintings project, I had never heard of Founders, but then my wife and I started researching different breweries, and über popular beers that are not available here in Alaska.  Well, Founders came out as an amazing brewery that everyone was abuzz about.  I have a few more amazing Founders offerings that were shipped to me!  Thanks everyone who participate in fueling the Year of Beer (it runs on beer)!  I am going to attempt to paint a beer from every state, so if you want to help me out, send me that beer that you are proud to call your home state’s finest.

It is ironic that I painted the Double Trouble IPA for today, because we had truck trouble yesterday while driving to Anchorage from McCarthy.  My amazing Chevy truck from 1992 blew its transmission 180 miles away from Anchorage with a load of supplies and oil paintings.  After hanging out on the side of the road for four hours, we finally had the truck towed to a salvage yard in Glennallen, and got picked up with all our stuff by my in-laws.  I drove this truck for nine years, and I loved it!   

When we got home at 1 AM, I opened a bottle of Double Trouble IPA.  It was the nectar of the gods!  I have never had a beer that tasted as good as this one, safe in my snug condo in Anchorage.  Nice and light, with a piney citrusy flavor, just like a double IPA should be!  Thank you Founders, you brought a small amount of happiness into my life at the wake of my trusty pickup.  Well, I guess it was not so trusty, kind of more rusty.

Cheers to Double Trouble and to finding solutions!  To rewards at the end of long days, and to fine IPA!  Thanks Founders, you rock!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Double Trouble IPA by Founders Brewing Year of Beer Paintings

Year of Beer 08.05. Double Trouble IPA by Founders Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

 

Leave a Reply

