Year of Beer Paintings – Day 237

The featured beer painting for the day is of Dirty Bastard Scotch Style Ale from Founders Brewing Company. Founders beer is actually not in my normal quiver of beer drinking, but since I have had so many sent to me, I have included almost all of them in this project. I still have the Devil Dancer and may paint it too. Every beer I have had from this brewery is phenomenal! I really hope I get a chance to go to Michigan; I should have gone for my college roommate’s wedding, but somehow I missed it.

The Dirty Bastard makes me think of Fat Bastard from Austin Powers, which already makes this beer a winner in my mind. This is a Scotch style ale, a wee heavy beer. Seven types of malt make this beer a very malt-forward brew. Although it still has 50 IBUs, which makes it more hoppy than many pale ales. This beer is actually well balanced with heavy malt backbone and solid hop aroma and flavor. Plum raisins and roasted malt chocolate, coffee, and smoky grains come to mind when sipping this 8.5% brew. It does not have much hop bitterness; the brewmeisters at Founders know how to perfectly hop a beer, that is for sure. Not only does this beer taste perfectly, and seems to satisfy the desire for beer after a glass or two, but it also looks great. The dark amber hue is a wonderful shade of sienna. A beautiful beer from a great brewery. Thanks Founders, and thanks Rich for sending it my way!

Slainte gu soirraidh! To Founders! May your brewery last forever!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of dirty bastard scotch ale by founders brewing michigan beer year of beer paintings

Year of Beer 08.25. Dirty Bastard Scotch Style Ale by Founders Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a comment