Year of Beer Paintings – Day 257

The featured beer painting for the day is of Mississippi Mud Black & Tan by Mississippi Brewing Company in Utica, New York. A black and tan beer already mixed from Porter and Pilsner, and ready to go in your own moonshine-style jug. I remember the first time I had the Mississippi Mud. I was in college and we were celebrating a friend’s birthday. We bought nearly twenty bottles of different beers and were pouring them into small glasses for a beer tasting. This may have been the first time I had done this, each previous time it was more about the drinking than the beer tasting, but since we had many delicious beers we decided it would be cool to taste more than to swill. I have tried to live by that motto ever since, but sometimes it can be hard to swim upstream.

A black and tan is a mixed beer that normally comes in two layers, gold on top of black. I made around twenty black and tans last Saint Patrick’s Day before I actually achieved a perfect one, even with the special black and tan spoon. So the premixed black and tan is actually close to what you should expect if making your own at home. Although, with enough practice and patience you will be able to make a beer float on top of another. This beer reminded me of the first time I drank it, and my mind went back to Colorado, where I first had it. I am reminded of the dorms at Western State with brick walls, thin air, and the smell of pipe tobacco we enjoyed back then. This beer was earthy, but refreshing; a good beer for sure. I would suggest if you never have had Mississippi Mud, it is worth buying, especially because it comes in a cool jug. Pictured behind the beer is the desert called Mississippi Mud, another fine culinary treat! Marshmallow, caramel, brownie and nuts. What more would you want? Two fine Southern concepts enjoyed here in Alaska!

Cheers to Mississippi Mud! A fine brew with a taste of the South.

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer painting of mississippi black and tan year of beer paintings

Year of Beer 09.14. Mississippi Mud Black & Tan by Mississippi Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

