Year of Beer Paintings – Day 264

The featured beer painting of the day is of Pyramid Brewing Company’s Apricot Ale. I remember when girls were drinking this beer in college, and loving it, and the guys made fun of it for being a fruity girly beer. I was always on the fence about it, because I thought it tasted good, but comments from my male friends made me have second thoughts. They would say, “Fruity beers are for chicks,” and “Sure, it tastes good, but it will give you a mad hangover.” Any 5.1% beer will give you a hangover, if you have six of them! So I haven’t had a sip of this beer for over a decade, or so it seems. As I opened this bottled, the smell of apricot was astounding, and I mentioned to my wife about how I was hesitant to drink it earlier in life because of the comments from the men. Maria commented, “Those fraternity boys would have done well to buy some of the Apricot Ale for parties, it would have made the ladies appreciate them more.” I have to agree. I was never in a fraternity, but I did attend a few “frat” parties. The boys were drinking mostly Coors Light and handles of vodka. I guess they wanted more bang for their buck. If they had the foresight to buy a drink the ladies liked, maybe they could adapt their drinking habits to encompass a beer as delightful as the Apricot Ale. Upon first sip, I regretted not drinking this beer more often. Spiced beers are actually at the top of my favorites list. Beer brewed with fruit is delicious, and not like the hard lemonade swill that gets people drunk on chemical malt liquor. At least there isn’t any artificial flavoring in this natural product.

Cheers to Pyramid Apricot Ale! Girls know good beer, when they taste it.

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Apricot Ale by Pyramid Brewing Year of Beer Paintings

Year of Beer 09.21. Apricot Ale by Pyramid Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

