Year of Beer Paintings – Day 266

The featured beer painting of the day is of Abita Amber by Abita Brewing Company, located in Abita Springs, Louisiana. This beer is a good example of an amber beer, slightly lighter and more refreshing than the Alaskan Amber. So far, this is the only beer I have ever tried from Louisiana (thank you, Rich, for sending it), but I hope to get down south one of these days, so I can eat a crawfish dinner, sample other local cuisine and try a few microbrews! This beer is a nice, hydrating, mild, Münich-style lager. A slight dosing of Perle hops along with Pale and Caramel malts make this a perfect afternoon sipper under the hot sun. It rained cats and dogs all day as I worked on building my small log home here in McCarthy, Alaska, but running a chainsaw and using a drawknife has similar effects on the body as the sun, and this beer was just perfect at the end of a long day of prepping and peeling logs. Now, if only I had some King Crab to pair with this beer, to really get the shellfish angle, Alaskan style. My Grandfather was from Arkansas, and he swore by the tasty crawdad dinner, and would often bait and catch crawdads several decades ago. I only heard about it though, as I was too young to participate in such endeavors. I look forward to heading down south to see where my Granddad grew up on the old family homestead. I think about it more and more as I continue to develop my ten-acre property here in McCarthy, Alaska.

Cheers to Abita Amber! A classic brew from a great brewery down South, way South of here, up North in Alaska!

The original oil painting sold, but you can purchase limited-edition prints, or order a Custom Beer Painting at my Etsy shop RealArtIsBetter.

Year of Beer 09.23. Abita Amber by Abita Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8"x10".

Year of Beer 09.23. Abita Amber by Abita Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

