Year of Beer Paintings – Day 305

Happy November! I am officially into the last two months of the Year of Beer Paintings, which is bittersweet, kind of like a perfectly balanced beer. The featured beer painting for the day is of Born & Raised IPA from No-Li Brewhouse in Spokane, Washington. I was born is Spokane, and lived there until I was seven years old. I remember skateboarding around our neighborhood, playing pick-up games of sandlot baseball, and jumping our BMX bike on the sweet jump we made from a sheet of CDX plywood and a couple of cinder blocks. I would say this beer was unique in its flavor. Before I drank it, I thoroughly spoiled my palate by gorging on handfuls of Halloween candy, so I may have missed some of the delicate nuances in this one. I think it resembled an English style IPA, a bit more bitter in flavor and style than the more American-style with hopped up aroma. More flavor on the tongue than in the nose, this beer will do the trick at 7% ABV. A pretty strong contender of an IPA on the alcohol level, which was hardly noticeable during consumption. No-Li says that everything in this beer comes from within a 300-mile radius from the brewery, and when you are in Eastern Washington that actually seems pretty close. I moved to Alaska in ‘87, but whenever I return to Washington, I visit family in Walla Walla, and I am always amazed at how the PNW culture is similar to what we strange northern Alaskans call normal. I guess it is because Alaskans mostly cheer for the Mariners and the Seahawks. We also fly in and out of Seattle as our closest Lower 48 air hub. Alaska used to be seven days away on a steamship journey, but the last port of call was Seattle/Tacoma. Now we can make the trip in about 3.5 hours in a jet. The No-Li Brewhouse opened five years after I left Spokane, but that was still eight years before I could legally drink beer, so I guess I really didn’t miss anything, and now I can buy bottles here in Anchorage!

Cheers to Born and Raised IPA! I hope you guys stay committed to making craft beer on a local level, the city of Spokane needs you!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Born & Raised IPA by No-Li Brewhouse Year of Beer Paintings Scott Clendaniel

Year of Beer 11.01. Born & Raised IPA by No-Li Brewhouse. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

2 thoughts on “Year of Beer Paintings – Day 305

  1. Adam

    I actually just stumbled across this and will more than likely purchase a copy once my home bar is complete here in little ol’ Spokane Wa.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

