Year of Beer Paintings – Day 309

The featured beer painting of the day is of Pt. Defiance IPA by Harmon Brewing Company located in Tacoma, Washington. This is an example of a traditional northwestern IPA with a malty body, balanced by a massive dosage of hops. The lead brewer’s favorite of the five flagship beers produced by Harmon Brewing, this beer seems like it would be perfect on any sea-going vessel. Heavier on the bittering hops than a normal IPA, but not too bitter to turn this IPA lover away. Nice and malty, and well balanced, just like a sea kayak in the protected Puget Sound.

Hops make beer taste good, and this beer has plenty. I think I want to make a trip into Tacoma next time I fly to Washington. It would be really fun to get out on the water in a little boat. The last time I was out on the Sound, I was on a ferry and I wished I had a hopped up beer. We were portaging our tandem bicycle on our tour down the coast, and next time I will make sure to pack a few hopped up IPAs into my bag, so I can enjoy one in the fresh salty air.

Cheers to Pt. Defiance IPA! A great beer for great adventures. I hope you get to have a good beer like this one after a great day out on the water!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Pt. Defiance IPA by Harmon Brewing Year of Beer Paintings Scott Clendaniel

Year of Beer 11.05. Pt. Defiance IPA by Harmon Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

