Year of Beer Paintings – Day 314

The featured beer painting of the day is of Brawler Ale by Yards Brewing Company in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Known as the pugilist ale, the Brawler is a fairly authentic English mild at 4.2% ABV, a true session brew. The label on the bottle, which I didn’t have, considering I was painting a draft pint right at the source, depicts a revolution era boxer battling the devil. I am particularly fond of this malt-forward, delicately hopped beer, and what better place to consume it than at the brewery in Philly! I sampled several beers at the tasting room while I painted this one, including the Revolution series and the signature IPA. All were very tasty. The ales of the revolution are modeled after historic recipes by America’s founders: George Washington, Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Jefferson. I don’t know of any other brewery that attempts to recreate these recipes. I have ties to the Brawler, as I painted it as a commission a few years back, and it was the first Philly beer I had ever consumed. That bottle was hand-delivered to Anchorage all the way from Philly. I like to taste what I paint, and won’t even put a painting in the Year of Beer Paintings series unless I have tried it, since I have to blog about it. The more I paint live in brewery tasting rooms, the more I’m starting to like it. The first time I ever did that was in Fairbanks, Alaska. People have been asking what my favorite beer is from the series, and I may have to say HooDoo IPA from Fairbanks. Mainly because it was the first time I painted beer live in a tasting room, and I was well received at the brewery. Yards reminded me of that occasion, so this may be my second favorite painting session. I felt in the zone as I listened to the buzz of a busy pub.

Cheers to the Pugilist Ale, I hope you don’t have to start a bar brawl before the beer is gone! Watch out because the devil doesn’t want to lose.

The original painting sold. You can purchase a limited-edition print, or a custom beer painting at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

beer painting of Brawler Ale by Yards Brewing Year of Beer Paintings Scott clendaniel

Year of Beer 11.10. Brawler Ale by Yards Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

