Year of Beer Paintings – Day 316

The featured beer painting of the day is of Dogfish Head Craft Brewery’s cask-conditioned 75 Minute Boil IPA, painted live at the brewery’s pub in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware. I painted this particular beer, because I wanted to depict one that I could only get at the brewery, and it also came in the classic cask ale glass, so I thought that would look cool in the painting. I was having so much fun painting and tasting the samples Maria ordered, while trying to get the reflection just right on the glass. As I was putting the last touches on the painting, the two women who were sitting at the table next to us commented that they had been watching my progress from the start and really liked the outcome. Turns out they had gotten married in Rehoboth Beach the previous day, and the Best Person in their wedding was really into the beer that I was painting, and they asked if they could buy my painting right then. I was taken aback and started to tell them that the paint had to dry for two weeks, and that I could mail the painting to them. Maria cut me off, because she noticed that the pub had to-go pizza boxes that were just the right size, so we packed the painting in one of those, right after I wrote a special message on it. Often my oil paintings sell before the paint is dry, but this was a new sales speed record.

That evening, after a short walk to the beach, we headed back to the pub for the Ancient Ales beer dinner with DFH founder Sam Calagione, and Professor Pat McGovern. Sam walked around to every table to meet people, and told me that there were other Clendaniels in the room. When he went back to the front of the room, he found out that the other Clendaniels own one of my paintings! I walked over to meet them, and we were amazed at how tight-knit the beer community is. The couple at our table, Mike and Marcia, became our Facebook friends, because we had such a great time sharing beer stories. This is the kind of trip I will never forget! Thanks Dogfish Head for being the coolest brewery outside of Alaska I have ever visited!

Cheers to the Cask Conditioned 75 Minute Boil IPA! A delicious cask beer that turned out to be the fastest sale of my life! I hope that the new couple’s marriage stands the tests of time and that my painting makes it home to Virginia safely!

The original painting sold. You can purchase a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of 75 minute ipa by dogfish head brewery year of beer paintings scott clendaniel

Year of Beer 11.12. 75 Minute IPA by Dogfish Head Craft Brewery. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

 

One thought on “Year of Beer Paintings – Day 316

  1. Pingback: Year of Beer Paintings – Day 365!!!!!!!!!!! | Real Art Is Better!

Leave a Reply

