Year of Beer Paintings – Day 328

The featured beer painting of the day is of the Oatmeal Stout by Core Brewing Company in Springdale, Arkansas. This is the first beer I have ever tasted, and painted from Arkansas. Thank you, Lisa and Jim Lamb, fellow members of the Great Northern Brewers Club, for bringing this beer to Alaska!

Arkansas has special significance to me. My grandfather, Linus McElhaney, was born and raised on the family homestead in Arkansas. I don’t even know where, because by the time I was born, he had been a Walla Walla, Washington man for several decades. The old McElhaney family homestead would probably have been a great location for a Farmhouse brewery. Wish I had a chance to see it. Maybe my Mom or Aunt can let me know where it is, and who owns the place. When I am building my log cabin and developing the ten acres I have up here in McCarthy, Alaska (that’s right, “the outlaw town featured in the new Discovery Channel reality show Edge of Alaska) I always think about my grandfather. I use many of his antique tools that he used as a journeyman carpenter in the 40’s and 50’s. So when I came across the Core Brewing Oatmeal Stout, I was really excited to get an Arkansas brew, not only because I need it to reach my goal of painting a beer from every state, but also because it reminds me of Papa Mac! The beer was unique. It had a robust roasted grain flavor, and was a little sour and salty. I wonder if that’s from brewing salts added, or the natural flavor from the Ozark Mountain water that Core Brewing uses. The tartness must be from the large load of dark grains in the mash.  I also appreciated the “Best Before” date of 12-15 hand-written on the bottle with a black marker, which suggests that this beer is released in small batches.  Overall, this beer is a finely crafted stout that I am pleased to add to the Year of Beer Painting project. I am sure that the brewery’s mascot, a Dachshund named Barney, would appreciate my choice in backdrop for this painting! As the bottle says, “Take pride in your wiener!”

Cheers to Core Brewing from Arkansas! I am glad to finally taste the beer from the place where my Grandfather was born.

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Oatmeal Stout by Core Brewing Year of Beer Paintings Scott Clendaniel

Year of Beer 11.24. Oatmeal Stout by Core Brewing Company. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

