Year of Beer Paintings – Day 330

This year is flying by! I only have 35 beer paintings to make, and I have scheduled beers for the rest of the year! At least I haven’t been bored. You know your life is getting a little hectic when you find that sitting on the airplane is a nice break. I’m still hoping we’ll get some snow before tomorrow, but that doesn’t seem to be likely. Right now our roads are as icy as an ice arena. Now is a good time to put on your skates and take a frosty bottle down to a lake for a good ol’ fashioned sip and slide.

The featured beer painting for today is of Prairie Hop Belgian-Style Ale by Prairie Artisan Ales in Oklahoma. So far every sip of beer I’ve had from this spectacular brewery has brought joy to my palate! The first time I ran across this brewery was at the Culmination Beer Festival in Anchorage, and if a brewery is invited to this event, that’s saying a lot for the quality of its beer. I have definitely enjoyed the Cherry Funk; and the Prairie Bomb was one of the best imperial stouts I’ve ever had! Last night when I cracked open this dry-hopped saison, I was immediately impressed. The Simcoe and Citra hops are very evident, and produce a pleasant citrus aftertaste. The beer was carbonated perfectly, which made it taste refreshing. I was surprised when I saw on the bottle that the ABV is 8%, because it tastes very smooth, like a beer that could be around 5%. The last time I had a pale ale that tasted this nice was in Vermont, and I think that is saying something. I really do not know anything about the Sooner State except that the Prairie Artisan Ales are really good, so when I think of Oklahoma, I think of this brewery. Looks like I will have to add y’all to my “must visit for beer” list. Thanks, Lisa and Jim, for bringing this beer from your travels for my project!

Cheers to the best beers in Oklahoma! Great work on the Prairie Hop! I hop you keep on making such vibrant, interesting, avant-garde brews!

The original painting sold. You can purchase a limited-edition print, or order a custom beer painting at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Prairie Hop Year of Beer Paintings Scott Clendaniel

Year of Beer 11.26. Prairie Hop Belgian-Style Ale by Prairie Artisan Ales. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

One thought on “Year of Beer Paintings – Day 330

  1. Pingback: Year of Beer Paintings – Day 352 | Real Art Is Better!

Leave a Reply

