Year of Beer Paintings – Day 335

Here we go, the last month of the Year of Beer Paintings! Only 30 more paintings to go. Thank you to all of you who have been following along. Don’t worry, next year I will post a new beer painting each week on Thirsty Thursday.

The featured beer painting for today is of Blueberry Berliner Weisse by White Birch Brewing in Hooksett, New Hampshire. A couple weeks ago, we were driving from Vermont to Maine, and drove through Hooksett, NH on the way. One of my customers reminded me that White Birch Brewing is in New Hampshire, and since I painted Hooksett Ale on day 221, I had to stop at the brewery to taste the beer fresh at the source. I was very pleased with the quality of beer at White Birch Brewing, and bought this bottle of Blueberry Berliner Weisse because it sounded good, and was not available on draft at the tasting room. My wife and I had decided to stop buying bottles to take home, because we were worried about getting them all to Alaska safely, but we broke that promise when we bought this bottle. This beer is a German style sour wheat ale fermented with blueberries. I should have waited a year to open this one to let the sour flavors build, but I couldn’t wait, and I wasn’t let down. This beer was perfectly delicious, and worthy of the space in our luggage. It was aged with real blueberries, and the berry flavor was very evident. The beer is sour at first followed by distinct blueberry flavor. Only a small batch was brewed and hand bottled of this delicious brew, so if you see it, grab a few bottles.

Cheers to the Berliner Weisse, or as Napoleon’s troops called it, “Champagne of the North”! This is a spectacular sour ale with fruit to boot! I highly recommend this small brewery in New Hampshire!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Blueberry Berliner Weisse by white birch brewing year of beer paintings scott clendaniel

Year of Beer 12.01. Blueberry Berliner Weisse by White Birch Brewing. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

