Year of Beer Paintings – Day 345

The featured beer painting for today is of DOA (Dead on Arrival) IPA brewed and bottled by Cerveceria Mexicana in Tecate, Mexico. I know I should have painted this beer for Day of the Dead on November 1st, but I missed that chance. I decided to paint it anyway, because the label is really cool, and I like this IPA. Yesterday I reached my goal of drinking and painting a beer from all 50 states and DC, so why not paint a beer from Mexico today? I sampled this amazingly well-crafted IPA at La Bodega Fest on November 1st. It was imported by Worldwide Beverage Imports in Los Angeles straight to Alaska, and the hops were still fresh and fruity, with a great aroma. I saw a bunch of bad reviews on Beer Advocate, but I decide for myself what is good, and I like this one. I bet the bros who complained about it being metallic and malty must have had an older batch, and those who said it was soapy must have drank bottles that were left too long out in the sun. The reviews before August 2014 are pretty solid, but then after September 2014 they go downhill. Did a bad batch leak out into America? The bottle I bought at La Bodega here in Anchorage was excellent!

The Day of the Dead is a national holiday in Mexico, which, ironically, lasts for three days from Oct 31 – Nov 2.  The festival is held to remember family members and friends who passed away – a good day to pour one out for your homies. The label with the skeleton riding a motorcycle is the right symbol for the holiday, and the “Hop on or Die” verbiage on the bottle is a perfect catch phrase for symbolizing the changing palates of beer drinkers in America. I hope you get a chance to have a fresh DOA IPA, and log on to BA and give this beer a good rating, so it ranks higher than Shock Top.

Cheers to Mexico’s DOA IPA – a delicious Mexico IPA that won’t quit ‘till the last drop. Hope you drink a fresh and cold one!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

DOA IPA by cerveceria mexicana year of beer paintings scott clendaniel

Year of Beer 12.11. DOA (Dead on Arrival) IPA by Cerveceria Mexicana. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

