Year of Beer Paintings – Day 348

The featured beer painting for the day is of Christmas Ale by Great Lakes Brewing Company in Cleveland, Ohio. I have been a fan of Great Lakes since the first sip of Lake Erie Monster IPA, which is the beer for day 183. The Christmas Ale lived up to my high expectations of any beer from this brewery. This beer is brewed with cinnamon, ginger and honey, but if you drink a cold one, you may have a hard time tasting those flavors. As the beer warmed up, the cinnamon came out in full force, followed by sweet honey, and mild ginger flavors. I wonder if they brew with fresh ginger, because they would need a ton of it for such a large batch. I brew a honey ginger beer called the Drippy Hippy (the recipe is posted on day 276), and I use four ounces of root for a five-gallon batch. I have added cinnamon to the DH before, and I think it got a little too spicy. Subtle, is what I would say about this beer’s flavor. Kind of hard to find right away, but it is there, and with a 7.5% ABV, I think subtlety is good. The directions on the bottle do state that the beer is best served at 55 degrees F, and I think my beer fridge is set to about 40 degrees, so I’m glad I took my time sipping this gem. Thank you Paul, for sending me this bottle!

Cheers to Christmas beers! This is my favorite beer season!

The original painting sold. You can purchase a limited-edition print, or order a custom beer painting at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Christmas Ale by Great lakes brewing year of beer paintings scott clendaniel

Year of Beer 12.14. Christmas Ale by Great Lakes Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

