Year of Beer Paintings – Day 352

If it smells like funk, it must be… Prairie Cherry Funk. Jim Lamb brought this bottle home for me in his luggage all the way from Oklahoma. There’s good beer in Oklahoma! So far, both of the Prairie Artisan Ales offerings I was able to get my hands on have been fabulous! The other one was Prairie Hop (day 330). This bottle has such a fun label! I love the little cherry-headed people working out. The funk in this beer refers to the sour note, which compliments the cherry very nicely. There must be some serious variation among the bottles, because I just finished reading this review on the Beer Advocate website, posted on Monday, “A very slightly, funky version of Maraschino cherry juice. Finishes clean and dry. It’s ok, but lacking in flavor (funkiness or tart).” I was really surprised, because the bottle I opened was as sour as a baking cherry. It burped all over the table as I raced for a glass to contain the pink foam lurching from the bottle. That’s the reason it shows the cherries working out, the longer it stays sealed, the longer the funky critters are doing the heavy lifting. I am glad this bottle made it home to my kitchen, and didn’t explode along the way. I wonder if the bicycle ride home from Café Amsterdam aided in the bottle conditioning. It was cold, frozen, icy and bumpy from snow during the short 2-mile ride. I loved the great wild American taste in this beer, like a real Kriek lambic, with a different funk that happens in the middle of the USA, and not on the Western side of Europe. My wife consumed this beer closer to its source at a pub in Portland, Maine, and gave me a sip. She claims the funk was less pronounced in the kegged beer we had there over a month ago.

Cheers to Oklahoma beer! I love what you are doing, Prairie Brewing, and I look forward to the day I get to sample your beers in Oklahoma!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Prairie Cherry funk year of beer paintings scott clendaniel

Year of Beer 12.18. Cherry Funk Sour Ale by Prairie Artisan Ales. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

