Year of Beer Paintings – Day 356

The featured beer painting for today is of Sleigh’r Dark Double Alt Ale by Ninkasi Brewing Company in Eugene, Oregon. At 7.2% ABV, and 50 IBUs, this beer packs a serious wallop. Give your winter blues a spanking with a few of these winter warmers, and you will be singing holiday carols all the way to the horse barn. Alt ale is made with ale yeast, but fermented at colder lagering temperatures, producing a beer that is decidedly crisper. I enjoyed this bottle of Sleigh’r outside in a snowstorm while ice-skating, which felt like a very wintery thing to do on winter Solstice. Since I drank it right out of the bottle, I wasn’t able to see the color of the beer, but it tasted like a dark lager for sure, with hints of spices, molasses, and holiday cheer.

I have been yearning to make a proper lagered beer, but alas, I do not have the space to do so. I argued to my wife that when I brought the second refrigerator home that I would lager some beer in there, but now I know that I need to buy a modulator for the fridge that will keep it slightly warmer. If I do that, it would render the freezer useless, and the extra freezer space was the main reason my wife let me get a beer fridge. So, I will have to buy beers like Sleigh’r, or the Ninkasi Prismatic Lager series: Pravda, Lux, or Venn instead. Good thing I have space in my fridge for beer storage.

Cheers to the beer that’s rockin’ Santa’s sleigh! May your winter be forever warmed by delicious seasonal ales like Ninkasi’s Sleigh’r!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Ninkasi sleighr year of beer paintings scott clendaniel

Year of Beer 12.22. Sleigh’r Dark Double Alt Ale by Ninkasi Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

