Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #25, June 18, 2015

Sweet Baby Jesus!  Chocolate Peanut Butter Porter combined with Buddy Christ and Catholicism creates what I call Sweet Baby Jesus WOW!  I am not trying to be blasphemous with this image.  I am merely attempting to make comment on current beer issues, and this beer has just been banned!  Due to customers complaining about its name, this beer has been pulled from a major grocery chain in Ohio.  I get it, it is breaking the third commandment: ”Thou shalt not take the Lord’s name in vain.”  However, I believe in this usage that it is more of an exclamation than a curse.  The beer itself is an award-winning chocolate porter with peanut butter, winning 3rd place at the GABF.  I have tried this beer on several occasions, and I find it to be a good dessert beer, especially with ice cream.  A bit too sweet, and naturally flavored to be consumed on its own, but it would certainly make an excellent beer float.  Not a go-to beer for me, especially since it’s not distributed to Alaska, but it is very interesting nonetheless.  I hope you don’t take offense to my social commentary, I’m merely documenting popular culture.  I actually hope it will make you laugh, or at least smile for a second.  Cheers!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

Buddy Jesus and Sweet Baby Jesus painting by Scott Clendaniel

Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #25 by Scott Clendaniel. June 18, 2015. Sweet Baby Jesus Chocolate Peanut Butter Porter by DuClaw Brewing Co. 11″x14″, oil on panel.

Leave a Reply

