Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #41, October 8, 2015

This week’s Thirsty Thursday painting is a parody of Gustav Klimt’s world-famous painting The Kiss. I have always been drawn to the work of Klimt, but I had problems emulating it before. He used a large amount of gold paint, which I was forbidden to use in college classrooms until I went to UAA, where it was encouraged. Now I use gold paint in every painting as an under-layer, and you can see it when light hits my paintings at a certain angle.

Klimt painted The Kiss between 1908-1909, during the height of what art history calls his “Golden” period. Austrian, Klimt painted in an Art Nouveau style and was considered a Symbolist. The Kiss is considered his most popular painting, and is now on display in Vienna at the Österreichische Galerie Belvedere museum. It is much larger than my interpretation, which I am dubbing The Sip. Mine is 11 x 14 inches, while the original is 5‘11’’ square. I hope you find this to be humorous and light.

The original oil painting, and limited-edition prints are for sale at my Etsy shop.

Beer painting parody of the kiss gustav klimt by scott clendaniel

Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #41 by Scott Clendaniel. October 8, 2015. The Sip. 11″x14″, oil on panel.

One thought on “Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #41, October 8, 2015

  1. Pingback: My 2015 Year in Review: Painting, Traveling and Building a Cabin | Real Art Is Better!

Leave a Reply

