Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #52, December 24, 2015

Lightly snowing here in Anchorage, Alaska today on Christmas Eve. Beautiful, but cold. This week’s beer painting honors David Crewdson, a volunteer beer expert, who occasionally runs the Midnight Sun Brewing brewery tour. He called me one day in the summer of 2013, and said he had a dynamite idea that he would only tell me in person, and invited me on a brewery tour.  I was in McCarthy when he called me, and since I was already planning to head back to Anchorage anyway, and MSBC is one of my favorite hang out spots, I told him I’d be there. After the tour, which I have done about six times at MSBC and countless times at other breweries, Crewdson presented his idea.  He said simply with his arms waving excitedly, “Here’s the idea… Paint mountains in the beer foam, and call it Toast to Our Mountains!” I thought it was brilliant, and he said he didn’t want anything in return, because what good is a great idea if you can’t implement it yourself? So I put the concept to the test, making five original oil paintings that all varied, but all had at least one pint with foamy mountains, or the Anchorage skyline.  I sold the last one just a few weeks ago.  So I felt it would make a great Thirsty Thursday entry and painted a sixth Toast to our Mountains painting.  The mountains in the background are the Chugach Mountains, which tower over Anchorage, and the one in the pint is Denali, the tallest mountain in North America, which I can see from my studio on sunny days, even though it’s 133 miles from Anchorage as the crow flies.

So I propose a Toast to our Mountains, and to David Crewdson — a man of honor, and integrity, with a fine mind!

P.S.  I noticed that this year has 53 Thursdays, so stay tuned next week for a bonus, and last, Thirsty Thursday beer painting of 2015!

The original painting, and limited edition prints are for sale at my Etsy shop.

Bald Eagle and Alaska Mountains Beer Painting by Scott Clendaniel

Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #52 by Scott Clendaniel. December 24, 2015. Toast to Our Mountains. 12″x24″, oil on panel.

Leave a Reply

