Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #60, February 18, 2016, Feast Label for Midnight Sun Brewing Co.

Not often does a visual artist get to brew a beer in a commercial brewery.  I was lucky enough to get to do just that!  When my home-brewing buddy Chris Hilliard became the Chef for the Loft at Midnight Sun Brewing Company he told me he was going to see what he could do to get into the brewery and brew a beer.  I told him that was a dream of mine as well and that I would like to join him.  Another dream of mine was to do the artwork for a beer label.  Many people have asked me which beer labels I have designed, and I have had to say the only beer labels I am responsible for are my home-brew labels, which I normally get rushed on as fewer than fifty bottles of beer hardly warrant much of my time.  Home-brew is gone before anyone really takes the time to look at the label.  Nor does it qualify as a commercial beer label.  Chris went to bat for me and not only got me into the brewery to brew a beer with him on the big brew kettle at MSBC, but he also got the marketing crew to let me make a painting that would be the label design.  The beer, which is called Feast, due to the recipe being created by Chef Chris, is a traditional German dopplebock aged in whiskey barrels.  It is not a small beer, being around 7.0-7.5% ABV.  Dopplebock has been referred to as liquid bread, which brings to mind monks drinking beer during Lenten fasts.  We discussed all kinds of names and different images I could use for the label, but the marketing team decided to go with Feast, and I thought that it would be cool to put a bunch of Alaskan animals all around a big table at a huge feast.  The animals represent the MSBC staff members as well as some of the regulars at the Loft (I like to think of myself as the mountain goat).  I included images of the food you can eat at the Loft as well, in homage to Chris’ culinary skills.  All in all, this label took me way longer than I thought it would, but I think it turned out better than I had hoped.  The images in this post are of the original painting without any textual graphics, and the mock up of the label, which is subject to change due to the fact that it has not been fully approved by the marketing staff.  I hope this will be the first of many label designs.  I do love working with breweries.  Cheers to the Feast!  Act like a monk and drink your meal!  The tentative release date is in April.

The original oil painting will be up for auction at the Loft when the beer is released.  I am releasing 52 limited-edition fine art prints of this painting, which are available for sale at my Etsy shop RealArtIsBetter.

Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #60 by Scott Clendaniel. February 18, 2016. Painting for a Beer Label Design for Feast Dopplebock by Midnight Sun Brewing Co. 19"x24", oil on panel.

Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #60 by Scott Clendaniel. February 18, 2016. Painting for a Beer Label Design for Feast Dopplebock by Midnight Sun Brewing Co. 19″x24″, oil on panel.

Feast Dopplebock Label Mockup.

Feast Dopplebock Label Mockup. First Draft.

2 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #60, February 18, 2016, Feast Label for Midnight Sun Brewing Co.

  1. Pingback: Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #71, May 5, 2016, Custom Beer Label and Painting Package | Real Art Is Better!

  2. Pingback: My Food “Philosophy” – Flavour Magic

Leave a Reply

