Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #72, May 12, 2016, Backwoods Bastard by Founders Brewing Co.

I am back on my McCarthy homestead, surrounded by snow-covered mountains and a thick Spruce forest.  For this week’s Thirsty Thursday entry, I painted a Year of Beer style beer painting of a Founders Brewing Company brew called Backwoods Bastard.  Since I am in the backwoods of Alaska, it seemed fitting for this to be the inaugural painting for the kickoff to my summer of painting in my bug tent in the woods.  I love how this guy has a double-bitted axe in his hands, not a chainsaw.  I love my chainsaw, but I’m a huge fan of the axe.  Although a  double-bitted axe has twice the cutting power between sharpening, it is a dangerous thing, so I opt for a single-bitted axe, even if I have to sharpen it more.  Backwoods Bastard is a Scottish-style ale aged in bourbon barrels.  It is a big, bold beer with flavors of whisky and vanilla and a hint of fruit.  It rates high in the craft beer community, and I think if you can get your hands on one, I would buy it and drink it deep in the woods.  This backwoods bastard wants to be far from civilization!  Cheers to getting away from it all!  Be sure your axe is sharp and you swing true!

The original oil painting sold, but you can purchase a limited-edition print, or commission a custom beer painting at my Etsy shop RealArtIsBetter.

Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #72 by Scott Clendaniel. May 12, 2016. Backwoods Bastard Scotch Ale aged in Bourbon Barrels by Founders Brewing Co. 8"x10", oil on panel.

Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #72 by Scott Clendaniel. May 12, 2016. Backwoods Bastard Scotch Ale aged in Bourbon Barrels by Founders Brewing Co. 8″x10″, oil on panel.

Leave a Reply

