Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #84, August 4, 2016, Backseat Berner IPA by Otter Creek Brewing Co.

Hoppy National IPA Day!  I love how IPAs are changing for the better.  They are now less bitter with more aroma of floral, citrus and pine.  You can thank breweries like The Alchemist, DogfishHead, Stone Brewing, and one of my new personal favorites Otter Creek for setting this trend.  Brewmaster Mike Gerhart has changed Otter Creek for the better by introducing new hop-forward beers.  The Backseat Berner IPA, Mike Gerhart’s favorite beer, is the first year-round IPA available from Otter Creek.  Mike’s clementine Westfalia VW camper and his faithful companion Oslo, the Bernese Mountian dog are featured on the label.  So, I painted a Bernese in the back of a VW camper to illustrate the story.  I hope Mike and my viewers find this beer painting to be as interesting as I do.  I loved the beer!  My good friend Adam Johnson brought a six-pack home from his trip to the East Coast.  I really hope I get another chance to drink it!  Since it’s not being distributed to Alaska, I will have to see about getting a few more bottles on my next trip back East.  I hope you get a chance to get out into the woods and drink a freshly hopped IPA today of all days!

The original oil painting, and 52 limited-edition prints are for sale at my Etsy shop RealArtIsBetter.

Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #84 by Scott Clendaniel. August 4, 2016. Backseat Berner IPA by Otter Creek Brewing Co. 11"x14", oil on panel.

Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #84 by Scott Clendaniel. August 4, 2016. Backseat Berner IPA by Otter Creek Brewing Co. 11″x14″, oil on panel.

Leave a Reply

