Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #102. December 8, 2016. I Heart PBR.

I am a huge advocate for craft beer, and have taken the Beer Judge Certification Program class. So, along the way, I’ve sampled a fair share of beers brewed the hard way.  One of the BJCP lessons focused on American Lager, and the lecturer mentioned how difficult it is for Budweiser, Hamm’s, and yes, even Pabst Blue Ribbon to make a true American Lager.  During my brief stint working at the home-brew supply shop for a few months in 2006, I remember dudes coming in and asking why their home-brewed beer was not even close to their favorite macro brew.  The answer is finesse.  American brew served fresh, ice cold, and after a hard day’s work is probably one of the small joys of life that most American beer drinkers have discovered.  While most home-brew is very inconsistent, varying between batches, generating unique flavors and well, being interesting all around, macro-brewed American Lager is incredibly consistent.  Historically, the American public generally won’t stand for beer that has varying alcohol content, or surprising flavors.  Although I prefer finely crafted products, microbrews and home-brews, I value the level of expertise it takes to make huge batches of consistent American Lager beer.  It also has a nostalgic quality, bringing back memories of good times from my youth.  Although I don’t get a hallelujah experience that I might from an uber fresh dank IPA, or a spot-on barrel aged imperial stout, it has a place in my heart, and I have consumed many a PBR late around the campfire.  So, to show my love for this great American beer I made this painting and wrote this little poem.  I also entered this piece into the PBR art contest, which did not call for poetry, but hey, I get poetic around the campfire.

I HEART PBR

– by Scott Clendaniel

My heart is beating with the love of Pabst Blue Ribbon

Each pulsation of a ventricle spreads the “Love”

rugged, American, sporty, bikes, ATVs, snowmobiles, and flatbed trucks

The sensation of liquid passion stemming from my core

the unending supply of goodness that comes from communal exuberance

Taboos be dead, and habits be damned, today’s a good change

drink to your health and drink to life because tomorrow is uncertain

but the next minute is excellent as a classic PBR was just handed to you

by a new friend

let the campfire burn to coals and the warmth spread to your toes

an old friend is with you till the end

the evening which went lasted to dawn

And the pumping of your heart continues

The original oil painting sold. Limited-edition prints are for sale at my Etsy shop RealArtIsBetter.

Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #102 by Scott Clendaniel. I Heart PBR. 11"x14", oil on panel. December 8, 2016.

Thirsty Thursday Beer Painting #102 by Scott Clendaniel. I Heart PBR. 11″x14″, oil on panel. December 8, 2016.

Leave a Reply

