Year of Beer Paintings – Day 286

The featured beer painting of the day is of Elephant Beer made in Copenhagen by Carlsberg. This beer was inspired by a gate commissioned by the brewer in 1901, which has four concrete elephants as the decorative main support foundation. Carlsberg has used the elephant as its trademark icon, even naming its export beer “Elephant Beer” since 1955. Elephant beer is the stronger, bigger brother to the normal lager at 7.2% ABV. This beer was on my Beers of the World poster that I had in my first college dorm room. I had to put it in my Year of Beer Paintings series, because I wanted to paint Sera, the baby elephant, consuming one. This beer gets bad reviews on Beer Advocate, and I don’t really understand why. The beer tastes like any euro style lager, and if you can get a fresh one, considering it comes in a green glass bottle, it is as tasty as any beer I had in Germany, or Holland of the same style, except it is way stronger. What makes a beer good? Is it the grain, the hops, the water, or simply the alcohol? The packaging is important too. I notice that people will be a lot more stoked about drinking a beer I homebrewed if I take time to put it in a bottle with a custom label. If it has a catchy name, it seems better than a generic beer. I had all kinds of thoughts about what I would put into the Elephant Beer painting. The bottle is cool looking, but the old label (the one that I had in my dorm poster) is way cooler than the new embossed bottle.  The painting is more about the elephant than the beer today, but if an elephant were to drink some beer, I’m sure it would want it to be Carlsberg Elephant Beer, otherwise it probably wouldn’t even notice it was drinking beer, unless it was something that cost dramatically more, like a barley wine. If an elephant got into my barley wine collection, I bet it would turn pink and start singing Elephants on Parade.

Cheers to Elephant Beer, a strong Lager! Not for the weak of heart, but a robust drinking beer. If you are only going to have one beer for the night, consider an Elephant Beer.

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Carlsberg Elephant Beer Year of Beer Paintings Elephant drinking a beer scott clendaniel

Year of Beer 10.13. Carlsberg Elephant Beer. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

