Year of Beer Paintings – Day 216

The featured beer painting of the day is of Fallen Angel Belgian Style Golden Ale by Midnight Sun Brewing Company. This beer is a tasty, original sin in a bottle. The brewers at Midnight Sun were playing with some wicked ingredients and brewed up this evil batch of beer. Originally brewed on 06.06.2006 they claim that they captured Beelzebub in bottle. Hence, the name Fallen Angel. I personally don’t think you will be damned for drinking this beer, but it is damn good. Although it appears angelical, it is actually devastatingly strong, the sin is in the 8%. It tastes just like the big, bold beers of Belgium with notes of fruit and a little bit of the Anchorage terroir. This is the second time I have painted this beer. In 2011 I painted a 18” x 24” version, and my friend Will, who was a beerista at the MSBC Loft, bought it, because it’s his favorite beer. I did a whole series of MSBC beers that year, and I was invited to the brewery for a photo shoot for visual reference. I got to try and photograph anything I wanted, and floated home on a cloud. It was hard to believe I was working that day, but I do remember Will telling me that I had to paint the Fallen Angel. He told me that hard-core bikers, the Hell’s Angels types, seem to think it is perfect. This one does have a cult following starting right in the brewery with Will! He rides pedal bikes, not Harley Davidsons, but he is still tough as nails!

Cheers to the crew at MSBC! This beer is one wicked brew, and I hope you continue to make it! Belgian Golden Ale is good and not very easy to find fresh in Alaska so grab a bottle and horde it if you can!

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of Fallen Angel Belgian Golden Ale by Midnight Sun Brewing Year of Beer Paintings

Year of Beer 08.04. Fallen Angel Belgian Style Golden Ale by Midnight Sun Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

