Year of Beer Paintings – Day 308

The featured beer painting of the day is of Rose City Red Ale by Alameda Brewing Company located in the Freemont District in Portland, Oregon. This beer was alive and well, it put up a nice floral foam and was quite the brew all together. I went to college for three years near Portland in the early 2000’s, and this brewery was started in 1996, so it was a young brewery when I was there. I wish I had taken the time to go visit, even though I was about 100 miles south of Portland. I love the Rose City! There have been some amazing nights I have enjoyed out in the heart of the city, whether riding my bike visiting friends, or cruising to town on the weekend in my Oldsmobile.

The Alameda Rose City Red was a unique beer for sure, a little sweet and a little strong at 6.4% ABV. It had notes of sweet malt and honey with a minor hop finish, and a hint of sourness. The strange thing about this beer is I would watch the liquid pour out of the bottle, but when it hit the glass, it would turn into thick foam, filling the entire glass with it. The foam dissipated quickly though. Next time I am in Portland I will make a trip to Alameda for sure.

Cheers to Alameda’s Rose City Red – a great beer with a classic Portland flavor. I hope your endeavors are as smooth as your brews.

You can purchase this painting, or a limited-edition print at my Etsy shop.

View the complete Year of Beer Paintings gallery.

Beer Painting of rose city red portland beer alameda brewing year of beer paintings scott clendaniel

Year of Beer 11.04. Rose City Red by Alameda Brewing Co. Oil on panel, 8″x10″.

Leave a Reply

